Paleontology: Looking for a good dino book

When I was little, I loved dinosaurs.

 

I love dinosaurs.

I want to learn more about them, but I can’t seem to find any books for people like me. There are books for kids, and even for teenagers interested in the topic, but then it jumps straight into graduate level books that talk about way more than I care about.

Basically, what I want is a book that teaches me about dinosaurs–their types, behavior, evolution, finds, etc.–with pretty pictures to look at without having to read through mounds of anatomical details, etc.

As a bonus, it would be great if it discussed paleontology in at least a little detail.

I found two contenders, but they seem to demonstrate my problem.

Dinosaurs: The Most Complete, Up To Date Encyclopedia….  -This one looks like I could easily read it, but it doesn’t look like it goes quite as in-depth as I’d like.

The Dinosauria: Second Edition– This one has an awesome name, but looks a little heavy for what I’d like. The fact that some reviews basically say it’s a graduate level dinosaur anatomy textbook makes it even more scary.

So if any readers could help me out by recommending to me a dinosaur book, I’d be extremely pleased.

3 thoughts on “Paleontology: Looking for a good dino book

  1. J.W., If I fix up the guest bedroom, you and your wife can come out and I’ll take you down to see the dinosaur tracks near Red-Rocks…how’s that!

Leave a Reply

