Star Wars and Disney: Match made in…. ?

I’m a gigantic Star Wars nerd. I sit here with my Boba Fett watch on, my keys in my pocket with the Boba Fett key chain, typing on the computer next to my Boba Fett bobble head, my Star Wars slurpee cup (change jar), with my Darth Maul blanket to keep me warm. My bedset is Star Wars, with the Millennium Falcon and an X-Wing on it. There’s a Boba Fett figure on my bookshelf, and my Christmas Tree will be covered with Star Wars ornaments. I’ve read every post-original movies Star Wars book. I’ve read a decent amount of the graphic novels.

I love Star Wars.

It has been said for years now. There will be no more Star Wars films. It gave me a sense of finality. Yes, the books will continue, and I love them, but the movies are over. Watching the original trilogy was part of my childhood that I would not have wanted to be without. I will never forget the sense of wonder when I first saw any Star Wars movie–it was Return of the Jedi, and I was watching it on my uncle’s couch. I saw Boba Fett and thought he was so cool (still do, obviously!), and the story was just amazing to me.

Now there is the news: Disney bought Lucasfilm, there will be new Star Wars movies.  Intial reaction: shock. I actually had trouble believing it is true.

But what does it mean for my beloved franchise? Will they follow the story in the sequel books? If so, how will they get actors to sign on for an endless string of movies? And where will they start? The Thrawn Trilogy? Oh my goodness. I just realized that is a possibility. Suddenly I’m more excited for something than I’ve been in a long time. I was already.

So, Disney bought Lucasfilm? I hate it. I love it! I hate it. I LOVE IT! Oh please let good things happen.

Here’s the thing though…. what if they ruin it? What if they go with some of my favorite books and then just destroy them? I know how I would feel:

Don’t forget, it you like my random musings here, check out my philosophical, theological, and apologetic arguments at Always Have a Reason. 

6 thoughts on “Star Wars and Disney: Match made in…. ?

  1. They can’t do worse than Lucas has. Be honest, did you really like the second trilogy? -I don’t mean ‘did you like it better than the smurfs’ I mean, would you think they were awesome even if the first trilogy had never been made?

    • J.W. Wartick says:

      Well, to be honest anything that is science fiction automatically gets about a +2 in my book on a rating scale… but even then Star Wars Episode 2 is maybe a 4/10. Maybe. Episode III? 6 (with the +2)…. Episode I? 7-8. I liked it quite a bit minus Jar Jar.

  2. dude! I also love Star Wars!

    Honestly, I was deeply disappointed with the all of the prequels. The story was just…I dunno, forced. The originals (4, 5, and 6) were just a cinematic quality that couldn’t me matched.

    Disney has no lack of creativity thought. Here’s to hoping they build off a solid foundation and direct some awesome films / stories.

Leave a Reply

