The Day I Discovered Japanese Military Science Fiction

all-killThere  have been a few movies in the past which have sent me scrambling to find the book afterwards. None, I think, will I mark as important as “Edge of Tomorrow” (check out my look at the themes in the movie). The book that inspired the brilliant film is All You Need Is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka. I decided to pick up the book because I enjoyed the movie so much and had heard it was worth reading. Thank God I did!I found some really fascinating elements spread throughout the book, like sacrifice, comments on truth, and human nature.

Mark it: 6/27/14 was the day  I discovered Japanese Military Science Fiction. Yes, I already liked military sci fi. David Weber is my favorite author with his masterful Honor Harrington series. But All You Need Is Kill comes from a different cultural perspective–one in which the individual is not valued so much as the group. It reflected throughout the novel.

Then, at the end, there was an advertising page. Apparently the publisher, Haikasoru, has brought over more Japanese military sci-fi.

It is now time to devour these works. I must have more! All You Need Is Kill was just fantastic. It was a short book, but dense–each page seemed to be dripping with development. The characters received more development than one would think possible in 200 pages. It was a masterwork, if I’m going to be honest.

I can’t wait to dive in and read more.

Have you read any Japanese Military Sci-Fi? If so, what have you read? What other branches of sci-fi am I missing out on? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The Day I Discovered Japanese Military Science Fiction

  1. Remington says:

    I agree, All You Need is Kill is an awesome book. Tightly woven together. I actually ran into it somehow before the movie came out. I’ve been wanting to check out Slum Online for a while, but haven’t gotten around to it.

    By the way, if you’ve liked video-games for a while and you like sci-fi you should check out the books Ready Player One and Snow Crash. Snow Crash touches on religion some, and isn’t as heavily themed around games the way Ready Player One is, so it might provide you some more platforms for reflection than Ready Player One, which I found primarily fun because I loved playing video-games around the early 90s.

    Snow Crash is like Dan Brown’s da Vinci Code meets Earnest Clines’ Ready Player One meets Christopher Hitchens’ Religion Poisons Everything meets John Shelby Spong’s… everything. … If you use your imagination 🙂

    • J.W. Wartick says:

      Those sound pretty awesome too! Thanks for the great recommendations. I checked out “Ready Player One” from the library one time but ended up not reading it because I got too busy. I’ll have to redo that!

Leave a Reply

